Burden

Poetry

Inflicted damage through corrupt touch
I am the infected- bearing wounds under the skin
Living lifelessly in the asylum nightmare
My lips were kissed by seductress silence
She turned my tongue into a broken forge
I could not craft any more words
Frozen solace, my only comfort
These solemn routines permanently haunt me
I have dug my own grave with my bare hands
For my head to rest
Bury me slowly, I am nothing but a burden
Blind from the flood of misery and terrified
I must have been allergic to life

5 thoughts on “Burden

  1. I’m no poetry buff but as a reader all my life, I’ve read a lot of poetry, some challenging, most over my head. But this poem leaves me shaking my head. No exaggeration, but I can’t remember “encountering” thoughts crafted in this way. I’m also not an emotional person, but this brought tears… and I’m not even sure why. It’s just the impact of your words, I guess. Astounding… and that’s not saying enough.

    Like

  2. “I must have been allergic to life”
    The emotion is well resonated.It’s amazing how you displayed a strong emotion!

    Like

  3. I love the last line. Nice post.

    By the way, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award. Here’s a link to my post on it.

    claireyangwrites.wordpress.com/2017/07/25/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Like

Leave a Reply

